Election Notice and Past Conservationist of the Year Award Recipients

The Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission will cause an election of Supervisors of the Ashtabula Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) to be held in accordance with Chapter 940 of the Ohio Revised Code.
Individuals who own or occupy land within the Ashtabula Soil and Water Conservation District and are 18 years of age or older may vote for Supervisor.
There are 3 ways an eligible voter can cast a ballot:
1.) At the SWCD office, 39 Wall Street, Jefferson OH, 44047, from 9/26/2022 until 10/25/2022 during normal business hours 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM; or
2.) At the SWCD Annual Meeting, which will take place at Ashtabula County Fairgrounds Expo building located at 127 North Elm Street, Jefferson OH, 44047, on 9/28/2022 from 5 PM to 7:30 PM ; or
3.) Voting absentee from 9/26/2022 until 10/21/2022, by requesting the ballot application and election ballot from the SWCD office at the following address: 39 Wall Street, Jefferson OH, 44047, by calling 440-576-4946, or email ashtabulaswcd@gmail.com.

Absentee ballots must be received by the SWCD office by 10/25/2022 and 4:30 PM.

Two Supervisors will be elected to a three‚Äźyear term commencing January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2025
Nominees are:
1.  Dan Decker
2.  Dr. Paul Mechling
3.  Kenneth Noble

Every year during our election cycle, we hold an annual banquet to present an Ashtabula County landowner who has shown dedication to conservation practices with our Conservationist of the Year Award. Below are our most recent recipients and their stories. Check them out!

2017 COTY Harry and Sharon Spieth

2017 Teacher of the Year Ken Noble

2018 COTY Keith Waris

2019 COTY Jack and Arlene Barthels

2021 COTY Ralph and Connie Rice

2022 COTY Don Eyring